The Board of Directors make up the Cooperative’s governing body, responsible for overseeing the operations of the Cooperative.  Members of the governing body have the skills and experience needed to fulfil their obligations as directors, making sure the Cooperative is working towards achieving its charitable purpose in a way that meets its ethical, legal and financial obligations, and that it delivers outcomes consistent with its aims and objectives.

The Cooperative’s Board of Directors is a highly qualified, highly skilled and professional team which brings the diversity of corporate and life experiences necessary to ensure the good governance of the Cooperative as a not for profit organisation and registered charity and to establish and oversee its strategic direction. Its members are passionate about the Cooperative’s work and receive no remuneration or compensation for the considerable contribution of both their time and expertise.

Members of the Board of Directors are:
Mr David Horton, LLB.

David has been a director and the Chairman of the Cooperative since its inception in 1986. David was formerly the Registrar for Cooperatives and Building Societies and Credit Unions; Chief Executive of National Deposit Insurance Corporation; Trustee of the Anglican Diocese of Canberra and Goulburn, and former Chairman of the Anglican Investment Development Fund. David has been recognised for his services to the community with the Order of Australia Medal.
The Rev Fr Michael Cockayne, ThL

Michael has been a director of the Cooperative since its inception in 1986. Michael has been in Queanbeyan as an Anglican priest for 40+ years during which time he has worked with marginalised people. As a priest, member of the Celebration Community and Karabar Episcopal Outreach, he has focused on the provision of housing through a number of initiatives including Karabar Housing Cooperative, Queanbeyan Housing Association (now incorporated within Argyle Housing), Parish
Mr Doug Tompsitt, BE FIEAust CPEng MAusIMM.

Doug has been a director since 2003. Doug has lived in Queanbeyan since 1998. He is a chemical engineer. He worked in the mining industry for 30 years, both in Australia and overseas, and is currently employed part-time with Engineers Australia assessing the professional qualifications of engineers for Chartered Engineer status. Doug is a member of the
Mrs Deb Bowles

Deb has been a director since 2005. She was born in Queanbeyan and maintains an active interest in the local community particularly through her voluntary work with the Queanbeyan Lions Club. Her working life was in the field of children’s services, both as a preschool teacher and an early intervention teacher.
Mr Rade (Rod) Djokic. BMgt, LLB, GradDipLegPrac

Rod has been a director since 2015. He was born in Queanbeyan and brings qualifications and expertise as a builder, lawyer, youth advocate and mentor. Rod passionately believes adequate housing not only has a huge positive impact on an individual’s quality of life and wellbeing, but on society.
Ms Sylvia De Luca

Sylvia has filled the role of Secretary and Office Manager of the Cooperative since 2014. Sylvia brings a Hansard, court reporting, legal secretary and small business background. She also worked in the aged care field within the Queanbeyan community for eight years to 2014.
Ms Wendy Smith, B.S.Chem

Wendy is the fifth generation of her family living in Queanbeyan.  She was born and raised in Queanbeyan attending the local primary and high schools before studying Chemistry at the Canberra University.  She worked at the Therapeutic Goods
Karabar Housing Cooperative
Housing Initiatives, HOME in Queanbeyan, St Benedict’s Community Centre and Men’s Shelter. Michael’s vision for the use of land in Cooma Street for the purpose of low‑cost housing was realised in partnership with Hope Marland when the Cooperative was founded. Michael has been recognised for his services to the community with the Order of Australia Medal.
Parish Council of the Queanbeyan District Anglican Church and a member of Gideons. Doug was invited to join the Board through his membership of Christ Church.
Administration (TGA) for thirty-two years before retiring in 2011.  Since then she has been treasurer at Queanbeyan and District Anglican Church (QDAC), President of Friendship Force and Treasurer at St. Mary in the Valley, South Tuggeranong (current).  Service to the community has always been part of Wendy’s background and inclination.  Her work with QDAC led to developing and facilitating a stronger relationship between the church and Karabar Housing and, with an increasing demand for affordable housing for people on low or medium incomes due to our economic circumstances, Wendy was pleased to be accepted onto the board in September 2019. 

The Secretary is the administrative officer/manager of the Cooperative and the main pont of contact between the Cooperative, the public and the Registry of Cooperatives. The Board of Directors assigns responsibilty for the day to day running of the Cooperative to the Secretary.